Featured image for SQE Stages: Navigating the Path to Qualification

SQE Stages: Navigating the Path to Qualification

SQE Stages: Navigating the Path to Qualification

Are you considering a career in law? The Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is the new route to qualifying as a solicitor in England and Wales. With the introduction of the SQE, aspiring solicitors now have a clear roadmap to follow in order to achieve their goals. In this blog post, we will explore the various stages of the SQE and provide valuable insights on how to navigate this path to qualification.

Stage 1: SQE1 – Assessing Legal Knowledge

The first stage of the SQE is the SQE1 exam, which aims to assess your legal knowledge and understanding. This exam consists of two parts: Functioning Legal Knowledge (FLK) and Practical Legal Skills (PLS). FLK focuses on core areas of law, including contract law, criminal law, and constitutional law. PLS tests your ability to apply legal knowledge in practical scenarios.

Preparing for SQE1 requires a strategic approach. Start by familiarizing yourself with the SQE1 syllabus and the specific areas that will be tested. Use a variety of study resources, including textbooks, online courses, and mock exams. Regular practice and self-assessment are key to success in this stage.

Stage 2: SQE2 – Assessing Practical Legal Skills

Once you have successfully cleared SQE1, you can move on to the next stage, SQE2. This stage is designed to evaluate your practical legal skills, including client interviewing, advocacy, and legal research. SQE2 is a more hands-on exam, as it involves simulated legal scenarios.

To excel in SQE2, focus on developing your practical skills through real-life scenarios. Consider undertaking work experience or a legal internship to gain hands-on experience. Practice simulated exercises, participate in role-plays, and seek feedback from experienced solicitors to enhance your skills.

Stage 3: Qualifying Work Experience (QWE)

While theoretical knowledge is vital, practical experience is equally important. Stage 3 of the SQE, known as Qualifying Work Experience (QWE), involves completing a minimum of two years’ work experience in a legal setting. This can be done before, during, or after the SQE exams.

During your QWE, you will have the opportunity to apply your legal knowledge and skills in a professional environment. This experience will provide you with valuable insights into the day-to-day workings of a law firm or legal department, and enhance your understanding of how legal theory translates into practice.

It is essential to carefully choose a suitable setting for your QWE. Seek opportunities that align with your interests and goals, and consider the areas of law that you wish to specialize in. Building relationships with experienced solicitors and mentors during this stage can greatly contribute to your professional growth.

Stage 4: Admissions Process

Once you have successfully completed the preceding stages of the SQE, you can proceed to the final stage: the admissions process. This stage involves applying to be admitted as a solicitor by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA).

The admissions process evaluates your character and suitability to be a solicitor. It involves a series of checks, including a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check, character assessment, and an SRA interview. It is essential to familiarize yourself with the SRA’s requirements and guidelines to ensure a smooth admissions process.


The SQE offers a structured pathway to becoming a qualified solicitor. By understanding and effectively navigating the various stages of the SQE, you can significantly increase your chances of success. Remember to approach each stage strategically, be proactive in gaining practical experience, and stay up-to-date with the SRA’s requirements. Good luck on your journey towards qualification!






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *