Featured image for 58. SQE Practice Areas: Navigating the Diverse Fields of Legal Practice

58. SQE Practice Areas: Navigating the Diverse Fields of Legal Practice

Welcome to SQE Exam Law: Your Expert Guide to the SQE Practice Areas

If you’re aspiring to become a solicitor in England and Wales, then the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is your pathway to legal practice. This comprehensive exam assesses your knowledge and skills across various practice areas, preparing you for the diverse challenges of real-world legal work.

At SQE Exam Law, we understand the importance of navigating the SQE practice areas effectively. In this blog post, we will provide you with a detailed overview of the 58 SQE practice areas, helping you gain a better understanding of the various fields of legal practice and how they can shape your career.

The Importance of Mastering the SQE Practice Areas

As a solicitor, it’s essential to have a broad understanding of the different practice areas. This knowledge not only enhances your career prospects but also allows you to provide comprehensive legal advice and representation to your clients.

The SQE exam is divided into two stages: SQE1 and SQE2. SQE1 tests your knowledge and understanding of the practice areas, while SQE2 focuses on the practical skills required in legal practice.

To excel in the SQE1 exam, it is crucial to have a solid foundation in each practice area. By mastering these areas, you’ll be better equipped to handle the complex legal issues that arise in real-life scenarios.

An Overview of the 58 SQE Practice Areas

The SQE exam covers a wide range of practice areas, including:

  1. Administrative and Public Law
  2. Advocacy
  3. Agriculture and Rural Affairs
  4. Arbitration
  5. Aviation Law
  6. Banking and Finance
  7. Charities
  8. Child Care Law
  9. Commercial Litigation
  10. Commercial Property
  11. Company Law and Governance
  12. Competition Law
  13. Construction Law
  14. Consumer Rights and Protection
  15. Contract Law
  16. Corporate Finance
  17. Criminal Litigation and Sentencing
  18. Data Protection and Privacy
  19. Debt Recovery
  20. Defamation
  21. Dispute Resolution
  22. Employment Law
  23. Energy and Natural Resources
  24. Environmental Law and Planning
  25. Equity and Trusts
  26. Family Law
  27. Health and Safety
  28. Human Rights
  29. Immigration Law
  30. Insolvency
  31. Insurance Law
  32. Intellectual Property
  33. International Arbitration
  34. International Trade
  35. Judicial Review
  36. Landlord and Tenant
  37. Media and Entertainment Law
  38. Medical Negligence
  39. Mergers and Acquisitions
  40. Military Law
  41. Motoring Offences
  42. Personal Injury
  43. Planning Law
  44. Professional Conduct
  45. Professional Negligence
  46. Property Litigation
  47. Public International Law
  48. Public Procurement
  49. Residential Property
  50. Social Welfare Law
  51. Succession and Wills
  52. Taxation
  53. Tort Law
  54. White Collar Crime

Each practice area requires a unique set of skills and knowledge. To help you prepare for the SQE exams effectively, we have compiled a series of related articles:


Navigating the diverse fields of legal practice can be a daunting task, but with SQE Exam Law as your guide, you can confidently approach the SQE exams. Remember to study each practice area thoroughly and make use of our related articles to enhance your preparation.

By acquiring a solid understanding of the 58 SQE practice areas, you will be well on your way to becoming a successful solicitor, equipped to provide expert legal advice and support to your future clients.