Featured image for 46. Understanding the Stages of the SQE: From Registration to Qualification

46. Understanding the Stages of the SQE: From Registration to Qualification

Understanding the Stages of the SQE: From Registration to Qualification

The Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is a new route to qualification as a solicitor in England and Wales. With the SQE, aspiring solicitors will undergo a series of stages to demonstrate their competence and eligibility for the legal profession. In this article, we will take a closer look at the various stages of the SQE and what they entail.

1. Registration and Application

The first step towards becoming an SQE candidate is to register with the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA). Candidates will need to complete the registration form, provide necessary documents, and pay the registration fee. Once registered, candidates can proceed with the application process, which includes submitting proof of qualifications and character and suitability declarations.

For comprehensive information on preparing for the SQE, you may want to check out our article on SQE 1 Preparation Courses.

2. SQE 1 Examination

The first stage of the SQE is the SQE 1 examination. This assessment consists of two parts: multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and written tasks. The MCQ section tests your knowledge and understanding of the law, while the written tasks assess your legal research and writing skills. It is essential to practice and familiarize yourself with the style and format of the examination questions. You can find SQE 1 practice exam questions here.

3. SQE 1 Results and Feedback

Once you have completed the SQE 1 examination, you will receive your results and individual feedback. The feedback provided will help you identify areas for improvement and guide your preparation for the next stages of the SQE. Understanding your strengths and weaknesses is crucial for progressing in your SQE journey.

4. SQE 2 Preparation

After successfully passing the SQE 1 examination, it’s time to prepare for the next stage, the SQE 2. This stage involves demonstrating your practical legal skills through solicitorly tasks, such as client interviewing and case analysis. Proper preparation is key to performing well in SQE 2. Our article on SQE 2 Preparation Courses can guide you through the process.

5. SQE 2 Examination

Similar to SQE 1, the SQE 2 examination is divided into two parts: skills assessment and functioning legal knowledge (FLK). The skills assessment tests your ability to handle various legal scenarios, while the FLK section assesses your understanding of substantive and procedural law in the context of real-life legal practice. Practice mocks for SQE 1 and SQE 2 can be found here.

6. Qualification and Admission

Upon successful completion of both SQE 1 and SQE 2, you will be eligible to apply for qualification as a solicitor. Moreover, you will also need to meet the SRA’s character and suitability requirements before being admitted to the roll of solicitors. The exact process and requirements may vary, so it is crucial to stay updated with the latest information from the SRA.

To stay informed about the SQE examination dates, you can refer to the official SRA SQE Exam Dates article on our website.


The SQE provides a new pathway for aspiring solicitors to qualify in England and Wales. By understanding the stages of the SQE, you can effectively plan your preparation and increase your chances of success. From registration to qualification, each stage brings its challenges, but with the right resources and dedication, you can achieve your goal of becoming a qualified solicitor.