Featured image for 42. Understanding the Different Stages of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination

42. Understanding the Different Stages of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination

42. Understanding the Different Stages of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination

Are you aspiring to become a solicitor in England and Wales? If so, then you must be aware of the recent changes in the qualification process. The Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is an assessment replacing the traditional route to qualification as a solicitor. In this article, we will take a detailed look at the different stages of the SQE and help you understand what each stage entails.

SQE 1: Foundation of Legal Knowledge

The first stage of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination is SQE 1, which covers the foundation of legal knowledge. This stage is designed to test your understanding of key legal principles and concepts. It consists of multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and will assess your knowledge in areas such as constitutional law, contract law, criminal law, and more.

To prepare for SQE 1, it is essential to invest time in comprehensive study materials and practice exams. You can find helpful resources like SQE 1 Practice Exam Questions and SQE 1 Practice Mocks FLK1 FLK2 to aid your revision process.

SQE 2: Skills Assessment

The second stage of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination is SQE 2, which focuses on assessing your practical legal skills. This stage is intended to simulate real-life legal scenarios and evaluate your ability to apply legal knowledge and skills to practical situations. It consists of several assessments that test your legal research, writing, drafting, and advocacy skills.

To excel in SQE 2, it is crucial to get practical experience and enroll in preparation courses that provide comprehensive training. You can find reputable SQE 2 Preparation Courses that will equip you with the necessary skills and knowledge to succeed in this stage of the examination.

Work Experience

In addition to passing the SQE 1 and SQE 2 assessments, you will also need to complete a minimum of two years of qualifying work experience (QWE). The QWE requirement ensures that aspiring solicitors gain practical exposure to the legal profession.

It is essential to find suitable work placements where you can gain relevant legal experience and develop your skills. This experience will not only enhance your understanding but also provide valuable insights into the legal industry.

SRA Admission and Licensure

Once you have successfully completed SQE 1, SQE 2, and met the QWE requirement, you can apply to the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) for admission as a solicitor in England and Wales. The SRA will review your application and determine your eligibility for admission.

Upon admission, you will become a qualified solicitor and officially join the legal profession. You can then apply for a practicing certificate, which is required to provide legal services as a solicitor.

Stay Updated with SQE Exam Dates

Now that you have a clear understanding of the different stages of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination, it is essential to stay updated with the upcoming exam dates. Knowing the deadlines will help you plan your preparation effectively and ensure you don’t miss any important milestones.

Visit the SRA SQE Exam Dates page to stay informed about the latest examination schedules and registration deadlines. Being aware of these dates will enable you to strategize your study and revision plan accordingly.


Becoming a qualified solicitor through the Solicitors Qualifying Examination is an exciting journey that requires dedication, hard work, and thorough preparation. By understanding the different stages of the SQE, preparing effectively, and gaining practical experience, you can maximize your chances of success.

Remember to utilize valuable resources like practice exam questions, mocks, and preparation courses to enhance your knowledge and skills. Stay diligent, stay organized, and take full advantage of the opportunities available to you.