Featured image for 27. SQE1 vs. SQE2: A Closer Look at the Exam Stages

27. SQE1 vs. SQE2: A Closer Look at the Exam Stages

SQE1 vs. SQE2: A Closer Look at the Exam Stages

Are you considering a career in law in the United Kingdom? If so, you may have heard about the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE). This new exam system has replaced the previous route to qualification as a solicitor, and it consists of two stages: SQE1 and SQE2. In this article, we will take a closer look at these exam stages and what they entail.

What is the SQE?

The Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is a new assessment framework introduced by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) in order to ensure consistency and rigor in the process of qualifying as a solicitor. The SQE is designed to assess candidates’ competence in the skills and knowledge required to practice law effectively.

SQE1: The Foundation Stage

The first stage of the SQE is known as SQE1 and consists of multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and written tasks. It aims to examine candidates’ foundational legal knowledge and understanding in various areas of law, including contract law, criminal law, and constitutional law. SQE1 assesses candidates’ ability to apply legal principles, analyze legal issues, and solve problems based on legal scenarios.

Contract law is one of the key subjects tested in SQE1. Understanding the rights and responsibilities of parties in a contract is vital for any aspiring solicitor. To delve deeper into this topic, you can check out this article on Parties in a Contract: Rights and Responsibilities.

Another important area covered in SQE1 is the topic of duress and undue influence in contracts. To gain a better understanding of these concepts, make sure to read this article on Unveiling Duress and Undue Influence in Contracts.

Essentials of consideration is another crucial aspect of contract law that often appears in SQE1. To grasp the backbone of contracts, take a look at this article on Essentials of Consideration: Understanding the Backbone of Contracts.

SQE2: The Skills Assessment Stage

The second stage of the SQE is known as SQE2 and focuses on assessing candidates’ practical legal skills. This stage consists of a series of practical assessments that replicate real-life scenarios encountered by solicitors in their day-to-day work. SQE2 evaluates candidates’ ability to apply legal knowledge and skills to solve complex legal problems, draft legal documents, and conduct legal research.

One significant aspect of contract law that is tested in SQE2 is understanding and applying express and implied terms in contracts. To decipher the different components of agreements, refer to this informative article on Express and Implied Terms in Contracts: Decoding Agreement Components.

Preparing for the SQE

Passing the SQE requires thorough preparation and a solid understanding of the relevant legal concepts and skills. It is recommended to enroll in a reputable SQE preparation course that covers all the necessary topics and provides practice materials and mock exams.

Moreover, in case of a breach of contract, it is crucial to understand the available remedies for contractual violations. To explore this topic further, read this comprehensive article on Breach of Contract: Remedies for Contractual Violations.


The SQE1 and SQE2 exams are the gateway to qualifying as a solicitor in the UK. By thoroughly understanding the exam requirements, topics covered, and tips for preparation, you can ensure your success in these assessments. Good luck in your journey to becoming a qualified solicitor!