Featured image for 21. Recognized Jurisdictions: Comparative Analysis for Qualified Lawyers

21. Recognized Jurisdictions: Comparative Analysis for Qualified Lawyers

21. Recognized Jurisdictions: Comparative Analysis for Qualified Lawyers

21. Recognized Jurisdictions: Comparative Analysis for Qualified Lawyers

As a qualified lawyer looking to practice in a different jurisdiction, it is crucial to understand the intricacies and requirements of the legal systems in various recognized jurisdictions. This comparative analysis aims to provide a comprehensive overview of different jurisdictions, their legal frameworks, and the process for qualified lawyers to practice law there.

1. United Kingdom

Let’s begin with the United Kingdom, a popular destination for lawyers seeking international exposure. The Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is the designated examination for becoming a solicitor in England and Wales. It consists of two stages – SQE1 and SQE2, each testing a range of legal knowledge and skills.

To prepare for the SQE, it is advisable to enroll in SQE 1 preparation courses such as those offered by FQPS Law School. These courses provide comprehensive study materials, practice exam questions, and mock tests to help you succeed in the examination. You can also test your knowledge with the SQE 1 practice exam questions available on our website.

Once you have successfully completed the SQE, you can apply for admission as a solicitor in England and Wales. The SRA SQE exam dates provide information about the upcoming examination sessions, allowing you to plan your preparation accordingly.

2. Recognized Jurisdictions

Now, let’s explore some recognized jurisdictions for qualified lawyers:

2.1. United States

The United States offers a diverse legal landscape with each state having its own requirements for foreign lawyers. To practice law in the US, qualified lawyers may need to pass bar exams specific to individual states. Additionally, the American Bar Association (ABA) provides resources and guidance for foreign lawyers seeking admission to practice law in the US.

2.2. Canada

Canada is another jurisdiction that welcomes qualified lawyers from around the world. The process of becoming a licensed lawyer in Canada varies by province or territory. Each province has its own provincial law society responsible for admission and regulation. It is essential to research and understand the requirements specific to the province in which you wish to practice.

2.3. Australia

Australia offers multiple pathways for qualified lawyers to practice law, including admission through mutual recognition agreements, completion of a bridging course, or taking bar exams. Each state and territory in Australia has its own admission authority, and it is crucial to familiarize yourself with the specific requirements of the jurisdiction you are interested in.

To further enhance your understanding and preparation, FQPS Law School offers SQE 2 preparation courses designed to equip you with the skills required to excel in the practical aspects of legal practice.


Understanding the legal systems and requirements of recognized jurisdictions is paramount for qualified lawyers looking to practice law internationally. This comparative analysis serves as a starting point for your research, providing valuable insights into the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, and Australia.

To solidify your knowledge and improve your chances of success, we recommend exploring our SQE 1 practice mocks FLK1 and FLK2, which simulate the examination environment, enabling you to refine your skills and become familiar with the format of the examination.

Ready to take the next step in your legal career? Enroll in our SQE preparation courses and embark on your journey towards international legal practice.